Connection: A Mandatory Life Skill

Christy Nichols
6 min readMar 17, 2020

Today, I’m lying on my couch, writing this, looking out my window up at the sky on a perfectly sunny day. I’ve postponed my personal travel and retreats, and am recalibrating. What happens next? What can I offer now?

I have 9 years of experience operating a global business and managing remote teams. I’ve learned how to roll with the punches and learned how to heal from punches I didn’t see coming.

Any business owner and entrepreneur knows, we have to knuckle down and learn navigation techniques if we want our dream job to both take root and take flight. For example, I’m an engaging writer, a creative, a passionate teacher, an avid traveler. Synching these skills and expertise into an experience I can create for others means I also have had to improve skills such as math (accounting, budgets, payroll) and technology (marketing, SEO, web development) — all subject areas that are well beyond the scope of things I love to do.

Then, because I’m an owner of an international travel company, this adds an entirely new dimension of responsibilities to my participants and clients: response to infectious spider bites, treatment for unusual skin rashes, meeting 14 different dietary requirements in countries where rice, beans, and chicken are more or less the primary food options at every meal. Tropical floods, power outages, and surprise cultural…

--

--

Christy Nichols

Educator, business owner, writer, do-gooder (mostly), trouble-maker (sometimes). Life Coach, Book Coach, Nicaragua Retreats hosted by www.venture-within.com